Awards and Prizes for the 2019 Graduating Class

Each year near the end of the Easter term, the School of Theology community gathers for a luncheon to celebrate the year and recognize outstanding achievements by members of the graduating class.

The Rt. Rev, J. Neil Alexander, dean of the School, and University Vice-Chancellor John McCardell Jr. hosted the presentation of the recognitions, awards, and prizes.

Previous award recipients from the senior class who were recognized included:

  • The Woods Leadership Award is presented to a member of the junior class who has most successfully taken the initiative in assuming a leadership role in the class. Kellan Day was the recipient for this award at the DuBose Alumni Gathering banquet in September 2017.
  • The same evening, Hannah Pommersheim received the Freeman Award for Merit, established by the Rev. Reed H. Freeman and his wife, Nancy. It is awarded to a rising middler who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance and promise in the junior year.
  • The William A. Griffin Scholarships are given each year to enable students to study in the Holy Land. The fund was established to celebrate the ministry of William A. Griffin, former professor of Old Testament at the School of Theology from 1959–1988, and was endowed by Professor Griffin’s wife, Anne Griffin, and her daughter, Shore Griffin, and other donors. Seniors Christopher Dell, Polly Robb, Cameron Spoor, and Marion Sprott-Goldson received the scholarships in 2017–18.

Dean Alexander paid tribute to elected class officers for their leadership.

  • Student Body President: Mark Nabors
  • Senior Class Representative: Melissa Kean
  • Treasurer: Elizabeth Harden

Sacristans have a central role, often unheralded, in the worship life of the seminary community and we are all dependent on their fulfilling their responsibilities well. Alexander recognized the members of the senior class who serve as sacristans.

  • Marion Sprott-Goldson, Head Sacristan
  • Kellan Day
  • Polly Robb
  • Mark Nabors

Wrapping up the presentation were the prizes to outstanding members of the senior class in several areas of academic study. The School's faculty votes on the recipients each year. This year's recipients are:

  • School of Theology Prize in Biblical Studies — Kellan Day
  • School of Theology Prize in Theology and Ethics — Kellan Day
  • School of Theology Prize in Historical Studies — Hannah Pommersheim
  • School of Theology Prize in Practical Theology — Mark Nabors
  • School of Theology Community Service Award — Melissa Kean
  • Episcopal Preaching Foundation Prize in Preaching Excellence — Christopher Dell