Sewanee Writers’ Conference begins 27th year

poet AE Stallings

Celebrating its 27th summer session, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference will run from Tuesday, July 19, through Saturday, July 30, and feature readings, panels, and lectures by distinguished faculty and nationally recognized editors, publishers, and literary agents.

The Conference will begin with a reading by poet A.E. Stallings (photo, right, credit Milos Bicanski) at 8:15 p.m. Tuesday, July 19. All readings and lectures are free, open to the public, and held on the Sewanee campus in the Mary Sue Cushman Room of the Bairnwick Women’s Center. 

A.E. Stallings studied classics in Athens, Georgia, in the previous millennium, and now lives in Athens, Greece. She has published three collections of poetry: Archaic Smile, Hapax, and Olives, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. She also wrote a verse translation of Lucretius’ philosophical epic, The Nature of Things. She is completing a new translation of Hesiod for Penguin Classics. Stallings received a translation grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Willis Barnstone Translation Prize, the 2008 Poets’ Prize, and the Benjamin H. Danks award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She is a 2011 Guggenheim fellow and a 2011 MacArthur fellow.

The following 11 days will feature readings by National Book Award winners Alice McDermott (July 20, 4:15 p.m.) and John Casey (July 20, 8:15 p.m.), and former Poet Laureate of the United States Robert Hass (July 26, 4:15 p.m.).

Further readings feature best-selling and critically acclaimed fiction writers Randall Kenan (July 22, 4:15 p.m.), Jill McCorkle (July 23, 8:15 p.m.), Adrianne Harun (July 24, 2:30 p.m.), Allen Wier (July 24, 8:15 p.m.), Tony Earley (July 25, 4:15 p.m.), Erin McGraw (July 27, 4:15 p.m.), Steve Yarbrough (July 27, 8:15 p.m.), Christine Schutt (July 28, 8:15 p.m.), and Richard Bausch (July 30, 8:15 p.m.); award-winning poets Charles Martin (July 21, 4:15 p.m.), Marilyn Nelson (July 21, 8:15 p.m.), Mark Jarman (July 22, 8:15 p.m.), founder of the Sewanee Writers’ Conference Wyatt Prunty (July 23, 4:15 p.m.), Sidney Wade (July 24, 4:15 p.m.), Daniel Anderson (July 25, 8:15 p.m.), Andrew Hudgins (July 28, 4:15 p.m.), B.H. Fairchild (July 29, 8:15 p.m.), and Maurice Manning (July 30, 4:15 p.m.); and acclaimed playwrights Naomi Iizuka (July 26, 8:15 p.m.), and Ken Weitzman (July 29, 4:15 p.m.).

Editors from 5E, 32 Poems, Algonquin Books, The American Scholar, Blackbird, Copper Canyon Press, Grand Central Publishing, Grove Atlantic, The Hopkins Review, the Kenyon Review, Knopf, LSU Press, Measure, The Missouri ReviewThe New Criterion, New Directions, Northwestern University Press, the Sewanee Review, The Weekly Standard, and W.W. Norton & Company will discuss publishing, as will agents from Georges Borchardt Literary Agency and Brandt & Hochman Literary AgentsAgents from The Gernert Company, ICM Partners, Lippincott Massie McQuilkin, The Williams Company, and Zachary Shuster Harmsworth/Kuhn will meet with participants. Representatives from Actors Theatre of Louisville and Agency for the Performing Arts will meet with playwrights.

A complete schedule can be found on the Conference website. Authors’ books are available at the University Book & Supply Store.

Supported by the Walter E. Dakin Memorial Fund established through the estate of the late Tennessee Williams, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference offers instruction and criticism to writers through a series of workshops, readings, and craft lectures in poetry, fiction, and playwriting. The Conference also offers a poetry translation workshop. Lectures and readings will be held in the Mary Sue Cushman Room of the Bairnwick Women’s Center on Mississippi Avenue, one block south of University Avenue. Admission to all public events is free, but space may be limited.

For more information, please call 931.598.1654 or visit the Sewanee Writers’ Conference website.