Fourteen members of the Class of 2018 elected to Phi Beta Kappa

phi beta kappa key

Fourteen members of the Class of 2018 have been elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. An initiation ceremony was held for 11 of the new members on Feb. 15; three who were unable to attend will be inducted in May.

The initiation in the University Archives was followed by a reception and dinner with the members of the chapter hosted by Vice-Chancellor McCardell.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa is perhaps the most prized honor a college student can receive. Students who have demonstrated exceptional academic excellence become eligible for election after completing at least five consecutive semesters. Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary; the Sewanee Chapter, Beta of Tennessee, was established in 1926.

Congratulations to Sewanee’s newest members:

  • Evan Walker Elam, politics major, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Elizabeth Ashby Gill, biology major, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • Frances Marion Givhan, theatre major, Troy, Alabama
  • Clara Chan Kim, economics and mathematics major, Nashville, Tennessee
  • Owen Wallace LeGrone, German and international & global studies major, Nashville, Tennessee
  • Katherine McKee Longaker, American studies major, Heiskell, Tennessee
  • David Matthew Losson, environment and sustainability major, Dallas, Texas
  • Meghan Salisbury Mulhern, economics and history major, Annapolis, Maryland
  • Cayla Marie O'Hair, psychology major, Franklin, Tennessee
  • Margaret Anne Stapleton, natural resources major, Sewanee, Tennessee
  • Therese Simon Steele, art history and philosophy major, Waynesville, North Carolina
  • Elizabeth Grace Tilly, physics major, Kijabe, Kenya
  • Kaitlyn Aileen Wilson, economics and mathematics major, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Bret John Windhauser, French and international & global studies major, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Eight members of the Class of 2018 were elected in the fall and inducted during Family Weekend: Madison Elizabeth Bunderson, Sophie Louise Clark, Davis C. Easley, Lauren Kelly Newman, Zsanett Péter, Remy Rose Rendeiro, Isaac Montgomery Sligh, and Elaina Ruth Wood.

Additional students in the class will be elected to Phi Beta Kappa in May and initiated during Commencement weekend. Each year the Sewanee chapter elects approximately 10 percent of the senior class to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent of the class generally is elected at the beginning of the first semester, on the basis of six semesters' work, and additional members are elected after the end of the first semester, and at the conclusion of the second semester.