Provost John Swallow, C’89, named president of Carthage College

john swallow speaking

Executive Vice President and Provost John Swallow, C’89, will become the 23rd president of Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin. He was elected on May 19 by the Carthage Board of Trustees and will begin his work there in July. See additional information about his appointment. 

Swallow has served Sewanee in a number of ways since his return to campus in 2011 to serve as acting provost. In April 2012 he was named provost of the University, and in 2014 added the title of executive vice president in recognition of his duties as chief operating officer of the College. He also served on both the Board of Trustees (elected 2001) and Board of Regents (elected 2007).

“John’s selection for the Carthage presidency is in recognition of his leadership at Sewanee, his dedication to students, and his long-time advocacy for the liberal arts,” said Vice-Chancellor John McCardell. “As provost John has been a steady and wise partner. I shall deeply miss his counsel, his devotion, his breadth of interest in the work of the University, and the quiet competence he brings to every task he undertakes. All of Sewanee can be proud of this achievement of one of our own.”

“I'm so honored to have been part of Sewanee's growth and development these past six years, and grateful for the extraordinary privilege of working closely with Vice-Chancellor John McCardell,” Swallow said. “Cameron and I are thrilled by the new adventure ahead of us, and will be glad to welcome Sewanee friends to the shore of Lake Michigan.”

Swallow will remain provost at Sewanee until June 30. He is the University's chief academic and operating officer and professor of mathematics and humanities. He has been responsible for strategic planning and execution, day-to-day operations, and the institution's operating budget, as well as overseeing several offices and programs. Before returning to Sewanee, he was the Kimbrough Professor of Mathematics and Humanities at Davidson College and vice chair pro tem of the Davidson faculty.