Commencement weekend events are May 11-13

baccalaureate procession

The University of the South's 2017-18 academic year comes to a close May 11, 12, and 13 with three ceremonies marking graduation weekend on the Mountain. Commencement and Baccalaureate ceremonies will be held for students from the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Letters, and the School of Theology. Honorary degrees will be presented during the School of Theology Commencement and during the Baccalaureate ceremony. Both Commencement ceremonies and the Baccalaureate service will be live-streamed

Episcopal priest, author, and historian of American religion Randall Balmer will receive an honorary degree and will preach during the School of Theology Commencement service Friday, May 11. The Rt. Rev. David Mitchell Reed, bishop of the Diocese of West Texas, and Richard Heitzenrater, the William Kellon Quick Professor Emeritus of Church History and Wesley Studies at Duke Divinity School, will receive honorary degrees during that service as well.

Jamaican journalist, playwright, and director Barbara Joy Gloudon; David Lodge, C’79, Rhodes Scholar and now the Francis J. DiSalvo Director of Cornell University’s Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future; and Condoleezza Rice, U.S. Secretary of State from 2005 to 2009 and a professor at Stanford University, will receive honorary degrees during the Baccalaureate service Saturday, May 12. Rice will give the Baccalaureate address. More information about each recipient is below.

On Sunday, May 13, a Convocation for Conferring of Degrees will be held at 10 a.m. in All Saints’ Chapel and the Quad for the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Letters. More than 400 students are expected to graduate from the College, and 11 will receive master’s degrees from the School of Letters. A luncheon honoring the Class of 2018 graduates will follow.

barbara gloudonBarbara Joy Gloudon is a Jamaican journalist, author, and playwright. She has worked as a features editor, columnist, editor, and reporter at both The Gleaner and The Jamaica Star newspapers. Gloudon was twice awarded Seprod Awards in Journalism from the Press Association of Jamaica. She hosted a radio talk show, Hotline, from the late 1980s until 2015, providing commentary on cultural and social issues. In the 1990s, she became the chair of the Little Theatre Movement. She was honored with the Order of Jamaica; the 2006 Gleaner Honour for her contributions to art and culture; as a fellow of the Institute of Jamaica; and membership in the Jamaican Press Association Hall of Fame.




david lodgeDavid M. Lodge, C’79, and a Rhodes Scholar, is an internationally recognized conservation biologist, the president of the Ecological Society of America, and the founder of the University of Notre Dame Environmental Change Initiative. He is the Francis J. DiSalvo Director of Cornell University’s Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future. One of the world’s leading experts on aquatic invasive species, Lodge has a history of collaborating with economists, historians, theologians, and philosophers, as well as corporations, to put research innovations into practice in order to improve sustainability. Lodge has served on the NOAA Science Advisory Board and as a Jefferson Science Fellow at the U.S. Department of State.




condoleezza riceCondoleezza Rice is the Denning Professor in Global Business and the Economy at the Stanford Graduate School of Business; the Thomas and Barbara Stephenson Senior Fellow on Public Policy at the Hoover Institution; and a professor of political science at Stanford University. Rice was the second woman and first African American woman to hold the post of U.S. secretary of state. She previously served as President George W. Bush’s national security advisor, and on President George H.W. Bush’s National Security Council staff. She has been on the faculty at Stanford since 1981 and has won two of the university’s highest teaching honors. Since 2009, she has served as a founding partner at RiceHadleyGates, a strategic consulting firm. In 2013, Rice was appointed to the College Football Playoff Committee.