Wyatt Prunty elected chancellor of the Fellowship of Southern Writers

Wyatt Prunty, director of the Sewanee Writers’ Conference and Carlton Professor of English at Sewanee, has been elected chancellor of the Fellowship of Southern Writers (FSW).

The Fellowship of Southern Writers was formed by 22 founding members in 1987 (including writers such as Eudora Welty, Walker Percy, Shelby Foote, William Styron, James Dickey, Robert Penn Warren, as well as the Sewanee Review’s George Core) who believed that the American South is an identifiable and distinctive cultural and social community, and that the vitality and power of its literature justify recognition and encouragement.

The FSW is composed of 50 active members, and seeks to recognize and encourage literature in the South through commemorating outstanding literary achievement, encouraging young writers through awards and fellowships, and recognizing distinction in writing by election to membership. Current members include Richard Bausch, Wendell Berry, Clyde Edgerton, Ralph Ellison, Allan Gurganus, Beth Henley, Andrew Hudgins, Ann Patchett, and Sam Pickering, C’63.

Prunty is the author of eight collections of poetry, most recently The Lover’s Guide to Trapping. He was elected to the Fellowship of Southern Writers in 2005. Other honors include Guggenheim, Rockefeller, Johns Hopkins, and Brown Foundation fellowships.