Professor Wilson Pens Foreword

Penguin Classics has recently reissued several of Shirley Jackson's books, including her second novel The Bird's Nest, which includes a foreword from Kevin Wilson, an Assistant Professor in the English Department at the University of the South. Other writers who have contributed forewords for Jackson's other books include Francine Prose, Victor LaValle, Ruth Franklin, and Laura Miller. In 2009, Wilson won the Shirley Jackson Award, given for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic, for his story collection Tunneling to the Center of the Earth.

Shirley Jackson first received wide critical acclaim for her short story 'The Lottery', which was published in 1948. Her novels--which include The Sundial, The Bird's Nest, Hangsaman, The Road through the Wall, We Have Always Lived in the Castleand The Haunting of Hill House--are characterized by her use of realistic settings for tales that often involve elements of horror and the occult.