Prof. Lee Conell Wins Story Prize Spotlight Award

Lee Conell

Sewanee Visiting Professor of Fiction Lee Conell has won this year's Story Prize Spotlight Award.

Her collection of short stories, Subcortical, was announced as the recipient of the prestigious Story Prize Spotlight Award on January 18, 2018.

Her recently published book features "sixteen incisive, distinctive, and superbly crafted stories--a skillful and self-assured debut collection."

The Story Prize is an annual book award for short story collections, award to those of exceptional merit featuring promising works by first-time authors, collections in alternative formats, or works that demonstrate an unusual perspective on the writer's craft.

Previous winners of the Story Prize Spotlight Award include: 

Drifting House by Krys Lee

Byzantium by Ben Stroud

Praying Drunk by Kyle Minor

Killing and Dying by Adrian Tomine

Him, Me, Muhammad Ali by Randa Jarrar

More about the prize and Professor Conell can be found here.